Executive Board and Institutional Bodies

Executive Board, Member's Assembly, Board of Trustees and Scientific Advisory Board

Executive Board

DIW Berlin's overall management is the responsibility of the Executive Board, which comprises the President, the Managing Director, and another scientific Executive Board member. The Executive Board represents the Institute externally, and is responsible for the Institute's scholarly and scientific affairs, and assumes commercial, legal, and administrative responsibility. One Executive Board member is appointed from the SOEP executive management. This member ensures the close cooperation between the Socio-Economic Panel (SOEP) research infrastructure and DIW Berlin's departments.

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board is comprised of 12 internationally recognized active scholars who advise the Institute. The Board also assesses the Institute's research and reports to the Board of Trustees on the work conducted. The Scientific Advisory Board participates in making selective appointments or in similar procedures.

Survey Committee (SOEP)

The SOEP Survey Committee provides advice to the Socio-Economic Panel (SOEP) research infrastructure's executive management, and advises on the SOEP survey and SOEP services. The SOEP Survey Committee comprises up to nine scholars appointed by DIW Berlin's Board of Trustees.

Board of Trustees

DIW Berlin's Board of Trustees is comprised of renowned figures working in the fields of science, economics, politics, and public administration. The Board of Trustees has the functions of advising and supervising the Executive Board. Its tasks include appointing and releasing of Executive Board members and appointing the heads of the research departments, the members of the Scientific Advisory Board, and the SOEP Survey Committee.

Members' Assembly

The Members' Assembly is DIW Berlin's highest decision-making body. Through their activities both internally and externally, the Members support DIW Berlin's aims. The Federal Government of Germany and the State of Berlin are permanent association members. They support the Institute's activities pursuant to Article 91b of the Basic Law and under the provisions in the Agreement on the Establishment of a Joint Science Conference (Gemeinsame Wissenschaftskonferenz, GWK). Within this framework, DIW Berlin receives funding from the Federal State of Berlin and the Federal Government.