Executive Board

The Executive Board is in charge of overall management at DIW Berlin and is comprised of the president, managing director, and another scientific Executive Board member. The Executive Board represents the institute externally, is responsible for the institute’s scholarly and scientific affairs, and assumes commercial, legal, and administrative responsibility. One Executive Board member is appointed from the SOEP executive management and ensures close cooperation between the Socio-Economic Panel (SOEP) and DIW Berlin’s departments.


Marcel Fratzscher

Marcel Fratzscher is President of the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW Berlin) and Professor of Macroeconomics at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. He is author and columnist on economic and social issues. He is member of the High-level Advisory Board of the United Nations on the sustainable development goals (SDGs), Associate Editor of the Journal of International Economics,...

President Executive Board

Stefan Liebig

Stefan Liebig has been Director of the Socio-Economic Panel and a member of the DIW Berlin Executive Board since January 2018. He has been a professor of sociology at FU Berlin since 2019. He is an appointed member of the German Data Forum (RatSWD) and Deputy Chair of the German Council for Scientific Information Infrastructures (RfII), appointed by the Joint Science Conference (GWK). He...

Board of Directors German Socio-Economic Panel study; Member German Socio-Economic Panel study

Angelica E. Röhr

Managing Director Executive Board

Board of Trustees

DIW Berlin’s Board of Trustees is comprised of individuals working in the fields of science, economics, politics, and public administration. The Board of Trustees advises and supervises the Executive Board. Its tasks include appointing and releasing Executive Board members and appointing the heads of the research departments, the members of the Scientific Advisory Board, and the SOEP Survey Committee.

Members’ Assembly

The Members’ Assembly is DIW Berlin’s highest decision-making body. Through their activities both internally and externally, the members support the institute’s goals. The Federal Government of Germany and the State of Berlin are permanent association members. They support the institute’s activities pursuant to Article 91b of the Basic Law and under the provisions in the Agreement on the Establishment of a Joint Science Conference (Gemeinsame Wissenschaftskonferenz, GWK). Within this framework, DIW Berlin receives funding from the Federal State of Berlin and the Federal Government.

Federal Republic of Germany

  • Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie
  • Bundesministerium der Finanzen
  • Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung
  • Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales
  • Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur
  • Bundesministerium für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft

Deutsche Bundesbank, Frankfurt a. M.

Deutsche Post AG, Bonn

Deutsche Telekom AG, Bonn

Government of Berlin

  • Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Technologie und Forschung
  • Senatsverwaltung für Arbeit, Integration und Frauen
  • Senatsverwaltung für Finanzen
  • Senatsverwaltung für Bildung, Jugend und Wissenschaft

Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg
represented by Behörde für Wirtschaft, Verkehr und Innovation

Freistaat Bayern
represented by the Bayerisches Staatsministerium für Wirtschaft und Medien, Energie und Technologie, München

Land Brandenburg
represented by the Ministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie, Potsdam

Land Nordrhein-Westfalen
represented by the Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Energie, Industrie, Mittelstand und Handwerk, Düsseldorf

Society of Friends of DIW Berlin (VdF)

Deutscher Gewerkschaftsbund, Bundesvorstand, Berlin

Sozialdemokratische Partei Deutschlands, Parteivorstand Berlin

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board is comprised of 12 internationally recognized active scholars who advise the institute. The board also assesses the institute’s research and reports to the Board of Trustees on the work conducted. The Scientific Advisory Board participates in making selective appointments or in similar procedures.

Person external

Miriam Beblo

Person external

Agnès Bénassy-Quéré

Person external

Michael C. Burda

Person external

Veronika Grimm

Person external

Michael Grubb

Person external

Frauke Kreuter

Person external

Andreas Löschel

Person external

Wieland Müller

Person external

Susanne Prantl

Person external

Jörg Rocholl

Person external

Kerstin Schneider

Person external

Donald Tomaskovic-Devey

Survey Committee (SOEP)

The SOEP Survey Committee provides advice to the Socio-Economic Panel’s (SOEP) executive management and advises on the SOEP survey and SOEP services. The SOEP Survey Committee is comprised of up to nine scholars appointed by DIW Berlin’s Board of Trustees.

Person external

Uwe Sunde

German Socio-Economic Panel study
Person external

Urs Fischbacher

Person external

Melissa A. Hardy

Person external

Monika Jungbauer-Gans

Person external

Lucinda Platt

Organizational Chart

© DIW Berlin